Postdoctoral Research

Vandael D, Okamoto Y, Borges-Merjane C, Vargas-Barroso V, Suter BA, Jonas P (2021) Subcellular patch-clamp techniques for single-bouton stimulation and simultaneous pre- and postsynaptic recordings at cortical synapses. Nature Protocols, 16(6):2947-2967, Open Source Link

Vandael D, Borges-Merjane C, Zhang X, Jonas P (2020) Short-Term plasticity at hippocampal mossy fiber synapses is induced by natural activity patterns and associated with vesicle pool engram formation. Neuron, 107(3):509-521.e.7, Open Source Link [Editor's choice, Science, 368:1325-1326, 2020 Link], [Neuron Preview, 107(3):395-396, Link]

Borges-Merjane C, Kim O, Jonas P (2020) Functional electron microscopy (“flash and freeze”) of identified cortical synapses in acute brain slices. Neuron, 105(6):992-1006.e6, Open Source Link [Cover Article] PDF, supplemental PDF, extended PDF

Vyleta N, Borges-Merjane C, Jonas P (2016) Plasticity-dependent, full detonation at hippocampal mossy fiber – CA3 pyramidal neuron synapses. eLife 5:e17977, Open Source Link. [Cover Article - October 2016] PDF

Doctoral Research

Balmer TS, Borges-Merjane C, Trussell LO (2021) Incomplete removal of extracellular glutamate controls integration at a cerebellar synapse. eLife 10:e63819, Open Source Link

Borges-Merjane C, Trussell LO (2015) ON and OFF unipolar brush cells transform multisensory inputs to the auditory system. Neuron, 85(5):1029-42, Link. [Cover Article] PDF, extended PDF

Bachelor's Research

Dziewczapolski G, Glogowski CM, Masliah E, Heinemann SF. (2009) Deletion of the alpha 7 nicotinic acetylcholine receptor gene improves cognitive deficits and synaptic pathology in a mouse model of Alzheimer's disease. Journal of Neuroscience, 29(27):8805-15, Open Source Link. PDF

Pellissier F*, Glogowski CM*, Heinemann SF, Ballivet M, Ossipow V. (2006) Lab assembly of a low-cost, robust SYBR green buffer system for quantitative real-time polymerase chain reaction. Analytical Biochemistry. 350(2):310-2, Link. (*) co-first authors PDF

Cover Neuron 2020 Cover eLife 2016 Cover Neuron 2015